(Washington) — The Mercy College of Health Sciences President has been appointed to the American Council on Education (ACE) National Task Force focused on improving transfer and award of credit practices to spur student success and reduce the time it takes to graduate.

The National Task Force on Transfer of Credit will produce a report containing best practices and emerging strategies for improving the transfer and award of credit, with the goal of advancing student success, promoting equity, and making college more affordable. The report’s recommendations will also reflect the diverse missions of U.S. colleges and universities.

“Students work tremendously hard to earn college credit. It’s a shame that so many end up not being able to apply them to a certificate or degree,” stated Mercy College President. “This task force’s goal is crucial to defining uniform standards and best practices that will set transfer students up for success from the start. We look forward to Mercy College continuing to be a national leader in our transfer credit acceptance policies."

A 2018 snapshot from National Student Clearinghouse data found that more than a million students, 38 percent of the 2.8 million entering college for the first time in fall 2011, transferred to a different institution at least once within six years. Unfortunately, as these students transfer, many of them lose academic credit.

The Task Force is comprised of presidents and chancellors of two- and four-year public and private nonprofit colleges and universities from across the country.

Task Force members include:


  • Anne Holton, interim president, George Mason University (VA)
  • Timothy P. White, chancellor, California State University System


  • James P. Clements, president, Clemson University (SC)
  • Michael M. Crow, president, Arizona State University
  • Waded Cruzado, president, Montana State University
  • President, Mercy College of Health Sciences (IA)
  • Dianne F. Harrison, president, California State University, Northridge
  • Tracy L. Hartzler, president, Central New Mexico Community College
  • Christopher B. Howard, president, Robert Morris University (PA)
  • Bonita Jacobs, president, University of North Georgia
  • Vistasp M. Karbhari, president, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Anne M. Kress, president, Northern Virginia Community College
  • Paul J. LeBlanc, president, Southern New Hampshire University
  • Jim Malatras, president, State University of New York Empire State College
  • Joe May, chancellor, Dallas County Community College District (TX)
  • James B. Milliken, chancellor, University of Texas System
  • Judy C. Miner, chancellor, Foothill-De Anza Community College District (CA)
  • Javier Miyares, president, University of Maryland Global Campus
  • Edward Montgomery, president, Western Michigan University
  • Scott Pulsipher, president, Western Governors University
  • Félix V. Matos Rodríguez, chancellor, City University of New York System
  • Mark B. Rosenberg, president, Florida International University
  • Sanford C. Shugart, president, Valencia College (FL)
  • Peggy Valentine, interim chancellor, Fayetteville State University (NC)
  • Lori Varlotta, president, Hiram College (OH)

Ex-officio members of the Task Force include:

  • Barbara Brittingham, president, New England Commission of Higher Education
  • Justin Draeger, president and chief executive officer, National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators
  • Kevin Kruger, president, NASPA —Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education
  • Michael Reilly, executive director, American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers
  • Joyce E. Smith, chief executive officer, National Association for College Admission Counseling

The initiative is supported by a generous grant from Strada Education Network.

The Task Force will meet several times throughout 2020 to engage with leading experts in the field, identify challenges, and craft solutions to serve students better. A final report will be released in early 2021.

About ACE
ACE is a membership organization that mobilizes the higher education community to shape effective public policy and foster innovative, high-quality practice. As the major coordinating body for the nation’s colleges and universities, our strength lies in our diverse membership of more than 1,700 colleges and universities, related associations, and other organizations in America and abroad. ACE is the only major higher education association to represent all types of U.S. accredited, degree-granting institutions: two-year and four-year, public and private. For more information, please visit www.acenet.edu or follow ACE on Twitter @ACEducation.

About Mercy College of Health Sciences
Mercy College of Health Sciences is the only private Catholic college in central Iowa and is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). Located in downtown Des Moines, Mercy College prepares graduates for service and leadership in the healthcare community with a wide range of bachelor, associate, and certificate programs. Visit www.mchs.edu/apply or call (515) 643-3180 to learn how you can start your Charting Your Course.