About Mercy College

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors at Mercy College of Health Sciences is guided by its mission, vision, and values rooted in the legacy of the Sisters of Mercy. The Board serves as the governing body of Mercy College and is committed, at a strategic level, to its fiduciary responsibilities of educational quality, fiscal integrity, and assuring the effectiveness of the College and its various constituencies.In shaping the College’s strategies and policies, the Board engages in a culture of accountability, transparency, and the highest ethical standards. The Board is an advocate and ambassador of Mercy College and in support of private higher education.

Board members serve rotating three-year terms and may serve up to three terms (total of nine years of service).

Diana Deibler  

Diana Deibler
Board Chair
Deibler & Company


Willard L. Boyd III, JD
Board Vice Chair
Nyemaster, Goode, West, Hansell & O’Brien, P.C.

Diane Huber  

Diane Huber, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, NEA-BC
The University of Iowa

Merle Pederson  

Merle T. Pederson, JD
Vice President & Counsel - Government Relations
Principal Financial Group

Desmund Adams  

Desmund D. Adams, JD


Elisabeth Buck
Senior Vice President of Community Impact
United Way Central Iowa

Laurie Conner  

Laurie Conner
Administrator/Vice President
Mercy Medical Center - West Lakes

Babara Decker  

Barbara Q. Decker, JD, ex officio
Mercy College of Health Sciences

Jacquie Easley  

Jacqueline Easley McGhee
Director, Community & Diversity Services
Mercy Medical Center - Des Moines

Stephen Eckstat  

Stephen Eckstat, D.O., FAAFP
Former CEO of Mercy Clinics - Des Moines,
Former VP of Primary Care Division, Mercy Medical Center - Des Moines

Sister Jude Fitzpatrick  

Sister Jude Fitzpatrick, CHM
Chancellor/Director of Administrative Services
Roman Catholic Diocese of Des Moines

Jeff Flora  

Jeff Flora
Kemin Health, L.C.

Martin Larrey  

Martin F. Larréy, Ph.D.
Former Provost, College of Saint Mary - Omaha, Nebraska


Glenn Lyons
President and CEO
Downtown Community Alliance of Des Moines

Sharon Phillips  

Sharon Phillips, RN
Vice President, Clinic Operations
Mercy Clinics, Inc.

Thomas Reitinger  

Thomas Reitinger
Consultant/Former Chief Executive Officer
Mercy Medical Center - Des Moines

Mary Sheldahl  

Mary Sheldahl
Former Owner
Iowa Dental Supply


Sr. Maurita Soukup, RSM, RN, MSN, PhD
Nurse Researcher/Consultant for Catholic Health Initiatives
Member of the West Midwest Regional Community of the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas

Robyn Wilkinson


Robyn H. Wilkinson, ex officio
Senior Vice President/Chief Human
Resources Officer
Mercy Medical Center – Des Moines