Board Of Directors

The Board of Directors at Mercy College of Health Sciences is guided by its mission, vision, and values rooted in the legacy of the Sisters of Mercy. The Board serves as the governing body of Mercy College and is committed, at a strategic level, to its fiduciary responsibilities of educational quality, fiscal integrity, and assuring the effectiveness of the College and its various constituencies. In shaping the College’s strategies and policies, the Board engages in a culture of accountability, transparency, and the highest ethical standards. 

Merle Pederson
Merle T. Pederson, J.D.
Board Chair

Vice President & Counsel - Government Relations, 
Principal Financial Group


Glenn Lyons
Glenn Lyons
Board Vice Chair
Executive Director,

Neighborhood Development Corporation


Diane Deibler
Diana Deibler

Deibler & Company


Mary Sheldahl
Mary Sheldahl
Retired Business Owner


Willard Boyd
Willard L. Boyd III, J.D.
Nyemaster, Goode, P.C.


Elisabeth Buck
Elisabeth Buck
Chief Community Impact Officer,
United Way Central Iowa


Babara Decker
Barbara Q. Decker, J.D.,
ex officio
Mercy College of Health Sciences


Jacquie Easley
Jacqueline Easley McGhee
Director, Community, Diversity & Interpretation Services,
Mercy Medical Center - Des Moines


Stephen Eckstat
Stephen Eckstat, D.O., FAAFP


Paul Erickson
Paul Erickson
Senior Vice President, Consumer Division,
Bankers Trust Company


Jeff Flora
Jeff Flora
Senior Vice President of Finance, Food & Human Group,
Kemin Industries, Inc.


Diane Huber
Diane Huber,Ph.D., RN, FAAN, NEA-BC
The University of Iowa


Sara Lydic
Sara Lydic
Mercy College Alumnus, Class of 2013
Graduate Student,
Des Moines University


Christine Pharr
Christine Pharr, Ph.D.
Vice President of Institutional Advancement, 
College of Saint Mary


Sharon Phillips
Sharon Phillips, RN
Vice President, Clinic Operations,
Mercy Medical Center - Des Moines


Thomas Reitinger
Thomas Reitinger
Thomas R. Reitinger & Associates, LLC


Bob Ritz
Bob Ritz,
ex officio
Mercy Medical Center - Des Moines


Sr. Maurita Soukup, RSM, RN, MSN, Ph.D.
Nurse Researcher,
Member of the West Midwest Regional Community of the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas